Databases for Grants to Individuals
The following databases include funding opportunities awarded either directly to individuals or indirectly to them through sponsoring institutions. They are particularly appropriate for scholars, researchers, students, and other academic clientele.*
For database help, see Funding Databases Search Features Chart - or watch these helpful videos online: Too Many Search Results
and Too Few Search Results
.
Not intended as a funding database, but when used creatively can be used as such. Provides detailed descriptions of 154,000 U.S. and international nonprofit organizations - professional societies, trade associations, and more. Funding programs by many of these organizations can be accessed by combining topic(s) with as many key words as possible to denote financial assistance - funding, grants, scholarships, for example. Updated semiannually, this is the electronic equivalent of the Encyclopedia of Associations by Gale Group publishers.
Back2College: Search for Scholarships 
Includes multiple web-based scholarship databases. Though originally intended as a resource for adults returning to college, this information is applicable to all population groups looking for internet databases on funding opportunities.
Offers several databases for approximately 23,000 private and federal funding sources. Grants in the non-science areas are included. Other features contained here are a newsletter, Funding News and a Funding Alert email update announcement services. (Note: You must set up a personal login account - free to UW-Madison clientele - through the COS Workbench feature for some of the COS services.)
For more on federal grants, this web server provides special access to the Federal Register, whereby one can by date, agency, and other options. Searching the section, Funded Research, will provide summaries of research grants and projects from five agencies: National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Small Business Innovation Research awards from the Small Business Administration, and the Medical Research Council, UK.
This collection of funding information is vast, and those looking for databases for financial aid for education will not be disappointed. FinAid has its own database fastWEB Scholarship Search, of over 180,000 private sector funding options, with links to Other Scholarship Databases for those interested in trying additional searches. For others still willing to look, there is still another link to databases for Specific Majors or Courses of Study. Then, to top it off, FinAid also offers Educator/FAA Guide to National Scholarship Databases, with yet another list of databases - both free and at cost, particularly with information of interest to educators.
Foundation Grants to Individuals
FGI Video ![]()
A database compiled by the staff of the Foundation Center. Includes of over 6,000 foundations and public charities that fund individuals for a variety of needs and projects. Funding includes educational support, general welfare, arts and cultural support, awards,prizes, and grants by nomination, international applicants, company employees, students and graduates of specific schools, and research and professional support. Brief entries include contact name and address, financial data, application information, deadlines, and more.
GrantsNet: Funding Opportunities for Training in the Biological and Medical Sciences 
A currently free database of hundreds of programs. Also includes funding news and an email update service. A site of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Quite a bit of funding information for international applicants.
Grants and Awards Available to American Writers 
This database from the PEN America Center, includes, more than 1,000 listings of domestic and foreign grants, literary awards, fellowships, and residencies available to American writers. Searchable by keyword, genre, organization, or deadline. Advertised as the "most comprehensive online database available to writers of all income brackets, at work in all genres, and at various levels of achievement."
Contains over 10,000 funding opportunities - mostly in research - provided by more than 4,000 sponsoring organizations. Corresponds to Oryx Press printed titles, Directory of Biomedical and Health Care Grants, Directory of Grants in the Humanities, Directory of Research Grants, Funding Sources for Community and Economic Development, and Funding Sources for K-12 Schools and Adult Basic Education. Grants can be searched by subject, geographic area, grant type, sponsor, free text, and other variables. Updated daily. Best used with Internet Explorer browser.
IRIS: Illinois Researcher
Information Service 
This database includes over 8,000 federal and private funding programs for researchers, scholars, faculty and graduate students. Funding organizations include foundations, professional associations, corporate sources, and others. Grant programs for institutions are included as well. Types of funding support include research, educational and professional activities, travel, exhibitions, publishing, seminars, equipment acquisitions, and more. Searchable by subject, type of support, population group, sponsor type, citizenship, application deadlines, and more.
Features a funding Alert Service, an Upcoming Deadlines section in 25 areas, and numerous links to other research funding sites and services. Compiled at the University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign. Updated daily.
RSP Funding for Graduate Students
(Temporarily Unavailable - see GIC News)
Contains over 3,500 records of funding programs for students for graduate level studies. Programs include fellowships, loans, grants, and awards. Descriptions give eligibility requirements such as applicant characteristics, heritage, skills, affiliations, financial need, and more. Corresponds to financial aid books published by the Reference Service Press. Updated semi-annually.
RSP Funding for Postdoctorates and Professionals
(Temporarily Unavailable - see GIC News)
Provides over 3,500 full-text detailed records on "funding programs open to postdoctorates and professionals for study, training, creative activities, conference attendance, travel in the U.S. and abroad, and more." Includes grants, fellowships, and awards, and specifies eligibility requirements such as purpose of program, career plans, and deadlines. Corresponds to financial aid books published by the Reference Service Press. Updated semiannually.
RSP Funding for Undergraduates
(Temporarily Unavailable - see GIC News)
Provides over 4,000 full text records of financial aid programs for college students. Programs include scholarships, loans, grants, internships, and awards. Details eligibility requirements such as gender, ethnicity, military affiliation, disabilities, student rank, financial need, student status, applicant characteristics, heritage, special skills, and student, parent, and/or spouse affiliations. Corresponds to financial aid books published by the Reference Service Press. Updated semiannually.
SPIN: Sponsored Programs Information Network 
Provides access to funding information for research, development activities, international projects, collaborative programs, fellowships, academic exchange programs, and more. Searchable by citizenship, geographic areas and restrictions, deadlines, subjects, and more. Offers access to New Funding Opportunities and the Federal Register. Updated daily.
*Additional funding databases for organizations and sponsored individuals are located at Grants for Organizations: Databases . Although most of the databases below include federal funding, databases exclusively for finding federal grants are listed in Federal Funding for Nonprofits, Businesses, and Individuals.
Open to everyone
Only available in Memorial Library
Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff, and in-person library visitors